One of three teams changing conferences in 2013-14, the Red Wings join the atlantic division in search of the same success they’ve enjoyed over the past two decades. Following a second-round postseason collapse last year, general manager Ken Holland lured long-time Senators captain Daniel Alfredsson and goal-scorer Stephen Weiss to Hockeytown to complement a lineup that already boasts perennial All-Stars Pavel Datsyuk and Henrik Zetterberg. Finesse aside, Detroit also brings with it a measure of physicality to the Eastern Conference with the likes of forwards Justin Abdelkader and Todd Bertuzzi, and defensemen Niklas Kronwall and Jonathan Ericsson. With star netminder Jimmy Howard in tow, the Red Wings are poised to extend their record streak of consecutive postseason appearances to an astonishing 23 straight years.

Daniel Alfredsson (RW), Stephen Weiss (C)

Valtteri Filppula (C), Carlo Colaiacovo (D), Damien Brunner (LW), Ian White (D), Jan Mursak (LW)

24-16-8, 56 PTS
7th in the West

Pavel Datsyuk (47 GP, 15 G, 34 A, 49 PTS)
Henrik Zetterberg (46 GP, 11 G, 37 A, 48 PTS)
Johan Franzen (41 GP, 14 G, 17 A, 31 PTS)